Pull List: July 22nd!

PowerUp-001-B-Ten-Years-ed009

This week’s pull list is small but super sweet!

I’m most looking forward to Power Up by Kate Leth and Matt Cummings, I’ve been so excited for this book for so long that I can’t quite believe it’s actually here! Kate Leth is one of my favourite writers (and people, let’s be honest) and Matt Cummings art style and colouring look beautiful.

PicMonkey Collage3

Power Up is about three unlikely people and a goldfish are gifted with cosmic abilities and the shenanigans that follow. It sounds pretty incredible and one of the characters has adorable Great Warrior slippers so count me in!

PicMonkey Collage2

Infinite Loop #4 is out this week which means we’re nearing the end of this story. I’ve been really enjoying this series. It’s such a unique premise that’s so well complemented by the art and panel structure. It’s always such a fun refreshing read with such great characters.

All New Hawkeye has been an interesting read so far but I felt I couldn’t fully accept it as the main Hawkeye title until Fraction and Aja’s run was finally over. The overlap was strange and definitely a contributing factor in my difficulty connecting with this book. Now that Hawkeye is over and I’ve dried my tears I’m welcoming All New Hawkeye #4 with open arms!

Harley Quinn & Power Girl #2 almost didn’t make this list, I’m not entirely sure how I felt about the first issue but I’m willing to give it another go! Harley and PeeGee are stuck in a forgotten dimension with one super creepy dictator. I really like the dynamic between Harley and PeeGee but the premise makes me a little nervous. Here’s hoping they kick some serious Vartox butt!

Prez #1 was really good – really, really good! I didn’t know what to expect but the idea of a 17-year-old girl being president of the USA sounded so full of potential. Beth is a really likable character in a really unlikable world. After a strong first issue I’m so curious to see where her story goes with issue #2!

Let me know what you’re picking up this week and if there’s anything I should review! If you missed my videos from last week you can see my thoughts on The Killing Joke here and my guide for reading Miles Morales here!

Meg

x

Leave a Reply

