What I’ve Been Reading | Week 6 & 7

 

Hi everyone!

It’s been a little while and for that I sincerely apologize. A nasty flu pretty much shut my whole house down for a little while and we were all forced to surrender ourselves to snotty tissues, lemsip and an intense amount of soup. So, since I have two weeks of reading to fill you in on I’m gonna get started!

_con

BETWEEN THE LINES BY JODI PICOULT AND SAMANTHA VAN LEER

Having finished Between the Lines I feel pretty much the same as I did the last time I mentioned it, it was a cute fluffy read but relied too heavily on tropes. The love interest Oliver had a whole bunch of borderline creepy moments that made me not only uncomfortable but anxious for what the acceptance and romanticism of his behavior would tell younger readers. The end was surprising and clever but a little rushed and definitely had the potential to have much more of an emotional impact. The cute little doodles dotted here and there were a pretty nice touch though.

new

HOW HARD CAN LOVE BE BY HOLLY BOURNE

I was pretty desperate to read this once I finished Am I Normal Yet?, which I loved. This one is about Amber who is very tall, a bit more than a bit bitter, drunk a little too often and off to America to see the mother who abandoned her when she needed her the most. I adored this book. I love Amber, I love her friends, I love her perspective and her feminism. I love Holly Bourne’s writing and I love the wit, care and love with which she handles the very real struggles of her characters. My only real issue with Am I Normal Yet? was that the feminism wasn’t as inclusive as it could and should be but I was so happy to see that this installment rectifies that and teaches even more excellent feminist ideology. I really wish these books had been around when I was still in school, I would have learned so much!

GHOST WORLD BY DANIEL CLOWES

During my indiemoviegirl faze I was a big fan of the film adaption of Ghost World. The graphic novel has been sitting on my shelf for a year now so I thought I’d finally give it a go and…it didn’t go well. Actually, that’s an understatement, I hated it. I hated the characterization, the inauthentic teen-girl voice, the writing and the cruelty. The art is nice but it’s the only positive I could find.

EDWARD SCISSORHANDS VOL 2: WHOLE AGAIN BY KATE LETH AND DREW RAUSCH

This one is a whole other story! I loved volume 1, I adore Kate Leth and I full-on swooned over this volume. The writing is on point, the characters are diverse and genuinely interesting, sexuality and gender-expression are casually and perfectly incorporated. I really can’t recommend this run enough.

THE YEAR I MET YOU BY CECELIA AHERN

The Year I Met You is about a woman named Jasmine who has just lost her job, found herself unable to work for a year and about to lose the plot. She’s hurt, frustrated and a little bitter. This is one of Cecelia Ahern’s more reality-based books and while it’s definitely a little slow it’s a captivating and insightful character study full of layered, flawed, diverse and fully realized characters.

TAKE IT AS A COMPLIMENT BY MARIA STOIAN

Take It As A Compliment is one of the best things I’ve read in quite a while. It’s a graphic novel that tells different people’s experiences of sexual harassment and assault. We see people of different gender-identity and sexuality tell their stories and all are given weight and importance, from cat-calling to rape. It’s devastating, harrowing and incredibly powerful. Obviously it comes with trigger warnings galore but if this is something you can read, you should.

aud

FURIOUSLY HAPPY BY JENNY LAWSON

I started listening to Furiously Happy because lately I’ve feeling a whole lot of furious and not so much happy and I needed something to cheer me up without acting like everything is cheery and peppy and ok. I picked the perfect book. It’s a genuinely funny book about sad things. It’s ruthlessly honest about how difficult and exhausting living with mental illness is but it’s one of the funniest books I’ve ever come across and I’m incredibly glad I found it when I did, it’s been brightening my days so much.

Let me know what you’ve been reading!

Meg

x

Leave a Reply

