WRITER Tag

My poor, beloved blog has taken a bit of a back seat while Mouse’s word-count builds and builds. While Mouse is a massive source of pride and happiness for me I do miss my little blog and I feel bad for letting it get a bit dusty. So today I thought I would pop up a post that’s relevant to both of my writing projects, a writing tag!

Untitled

As cliche as it is, I love writing in coffee shops. There’s something about the atmosphere (and probably the caffeine) that makes me want to write all day, especially if it’s a rainy day. The writing I do on those days is usually my favourite. But since leaving is tough for me I do most of my writing at home beside the biggest window, usually with the dog asleep on my lap and an endless supply of tea.

Untitlediugv

I always tidy beforehand, even if the area is already perfect I’ll wipe down the surface and set everything out neatly. Then I always make a hot drink, put on background sounds (this Hogwarts library is my go-to) and if I’m having a tough time I’ll have an emergency dance party.

Untitledfrhvb

I start to feel like my ideas will disappear and I won’t get them back and whatever I’m writing will never be as good as it could have been and ohhh my gosh the stress.

talent

I asked my girlfriend and she said “you’re good at rhythm and really impressive chunks of writing that fit really well in their little…containers. Like you read it and you’re like shiiit that should be on a bumper sticker on a really big car. You know?”
ess

Letting my brain go for a wander with no real plan, working things out as they go along. I never write in order, I just let my brain roam around the story until it all fits together. It makes everything feel neater and less confusing. As much as I love plans and schedules, when it comes to writing it just doesn’t work. So I’ve stopped trying to force it and since then writing has become a bit of a sanctuary where things don’t necessarily have to make sense or seem tidy. It’s a safe space.
refl.png

Mouse! The project I’m working on right now is pretty heavily influenced by things that are happening in my life. The characters and story are 100% fictional but there are definitely aspects that are reflections of reality or inspired by something that really happened.

Meg

x

Leave a Reply

